## **Conference Venue**

The 8<sup>th</sup> ICERD will be held at Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University (STOU), Nonthaburi, Thailand. http://www.stou.ac.th/Eng/

Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University (STOU) was officially established by Royal Charter on September 5<sup>th</sup>, 1978 as Thailand's eleventh state university. His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (King Rama IX) graciously bestowed the university its name in honor of King Prajadhipok (King Rama VII), who once held the title "Prince Sukhothai Thammaracha" prior to his accession to the throne.

STOU received its first academic class on December 1<sup>st</sup>, 1980. At its founding, STOU was the first university in Southeast Asia to use the distance learning system. This new system of learning expanded the role of higher education in Thailand by engaging learners who previously had no opportunity to further their education. Since its establishment, STOU has enabled the development of individuals and communities throughout Thailand and beyond. Presently, there are 12 schools in this university.



Courses in agricultural extension and cooperatives were offered starting in 1982 by the School of Agriculture and Cooperatives, and in 1990 the School received approval from the Ministry of University Affairs to begin offering courses in forestry extension to meet the needs of personnel at the Royal Forest Department and related agencies. Then, in 1994 and 1995, majors in agribusiness, crop production management, and animal production management were approved to meet the needs of public and private sector personnel in these areas. In 2007 the agricultural management degree program was approved, consisting of majors in crop production management, animal production management, forest and environmental resources management, and agribusiness. STOU and Office of the Higher Education Commission had approved the following study programs: Bachelor of Agricultural Program in Agricultural Extension, Bachelor of Agricultural Program in Agricultural Extension, Bachelor of Program in Cooperatives.

The School of Agriculture and Cooperatives offered the first Master of Agriculture (Agricultural Extension) degree in 2000. In 2009 the program was revised to be Master of

Agriculture (Agricultural Extension) with a major in agricultural extension and development. In 2006 the School introduced a Master of Business Administration (Cooperatives) program, and a Master of Agriculture (Agricultural Resources Management). In 2010 the School launched its first doctorate level program, the Doctor of Philosophy (Agricultural Extension and Development) program.

